Fitness & Health · Uncategorized · Yoga

7 Poses for the 7 Chakras


Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Warrior II Pose (Virabhadrasana II)


The first chakra is about trust and learning to trust the world when your initial reaction is fear. Feeling safe and grounded in your surroundings, community, family is key to healing yourself.


Warrior II makes you connect your two feet to the earth, providing you with stability and safety.

I am safe. I trust.


Sacral, or Pelvic, Chakra (Svadhisthana)
Low Squat (Malasana)

The life lesson in the second chakra involves replacing guilt with forgiveness and acceptance, especially in the areas of sexual relationships.

This low squat focuses on the pelvis and allows you to be open and receptive physically, emotionally, and energetically in order to accept yourself fully.

I accept and forgive myself.



3. Navel Chakra (Manipura)
Boat Pose (Paripurna Navasana)

The lesson of the third chakra involves replacing insecurities with confidence.

Practicing Boat Pose and allowing yourself to shake and feel the burn in your core offers the opportunity to summon the inner strength to keep going and know that YOU CAN DO IT!

I am confident and worthy.



4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)
Full Wheel (Urdhva Dhanurasana)

The fourth chakra’s lesson deals with healing anger and frustration by developing compassion and love in your heart for yourself and others.

Urdhva Dhanurasana requires going beyond your comfort level of opening up the heart. Reaching that edge and breathing into it will connect you to the bliss of love, which resides beyond the resentment of anger.

I am lovable. I feel compassion.



5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
Fish Pose (Matsyasana)

The lesson of the fifth chakra involves developing the ability to clearly communicate with yourself and others. Often we don’t say what we mean or mean what we say because we’re distracted by unnecessary layers that don’t allow us to embrace our authentic Selves.

Fish Pose deals with opening the throat and spine in a way that can feel oddly vulnerable until you find your own expression. The same applies to communicating honestly with yourself and others. In the beginning it can be uncomfortable until you find your own genuine voice. Then, it is liberating.

I communicate clearly and compassionately.




6. Third-Eye Chakra (Anja)
Child’s Pose (Balasana)

The life lesson for the sixth chakra is developing the ability to trust your intuition. You replace ignorance of oneself with surrender to divine guidance. You understand that you are one drop in the ocean; you are part of the whole. Your intuition is guided by your spiritual eye—the third eye, located between the eyebrows.

While in Child’s Pose, feel your third eye touching the floor and breathe into it, feeling centered and clear. Be brave. Connect with and listen to your intuition while in the pose.

I am connected to my intuition.



7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)
Headstand (Salamba Sirsasana)

The life lesson of the seventh chakra is about developing the ability to surrender to pure consciousness, as you finally learn your true nature or at least become aware of it. You understand that you are the ocean as well. You are the micro and the macro.

In Headstand, the crown of your head is on the floor, which means it is grounded and connected to the earth. Let this pose remind you that while your intention is connected to the Divine, you are still rooted on this Earth in order to continue to serve and fulfill your purpose.

I am the Self. I am here to serve.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s